Spay day.

11/22/2011

Elsa was successfully spayed today. PHEW.

I’m really glad it went smoothly and solidified that though today was A LOT outside of her comfort zone, she was not pushed to bite or even bare her teeth. There was an incident when we were checking her in and a woman came in the door with her dog, was paying attention to her young child that was refusing to walk through the door, and her dog ran up into Elsa’s face. I looked down to see them nose to nose when Elsa (I’m pretty positive it was her, the other dog looked very thrilled) growled very loudly but when I pulled her harness slightly and said “hey.” she easily turned towards me. When she heals from her spay I’m going to take her for a walk with our very level headed, calm Elkhound before introductions and see where that goes. I think this dog in the office was just way over her threshold for all the stuff going on.

She easily let me put a harness on her and was very puppy like in her walk outdoors to the car. She held her tail wagging and ran in quick bursts, nomming on the leash every so often. She also either is house trained, or is so used to being a stray that she enjoys going the bathroom outside. She hadn’t pooped since Saturday night but immediately pooped upon exiting the car, and peed outside each time we walked out. Bit unsure of walking around entirely, allowed me to pick her up and put her in the car but had a little trouble with me picking her up to take her out. It looked like she wanted to jump, but my boyfriend has a Range Rover so it was much too far to let her do it- especially after her surgery.

Of course I forgot all her paper work when I got there, and I forgot to ask them to cut her nails. Thankfully my vet rules and did it while she was under anyway. I’m fairly certain she would let me cut them as I handled her paws effortlessly last night but my motto here is baby steps. We’re not going to face any thing quickly unless we have to- like today’s trip to the vet. The vet thought it was best to spay first then treat her heartworm, and I wanted to get her spayed so I can begin working on socializing her a bit with the dogs as she’ll have to be completely separated and calm during her treatment (as if she isn’t any thing but calm anyway). She did great in the vets office- let strangers take her leash and lead here away, even petting her. She was dropped off at 7:30 AM and the vet called me at 9 AM and I didn’t answer. I didn’t answer because I was terrified they’d either say she went apeshit and bit every one who came near her, or that when they opened her up they discovered something horrible and we needed to put her to sleep. I was incredibly anxious about today in general so that is how my brain works. They left a voicemail and I stalled for a long time before listening to it. I ended up saving the voicemail forever because it was just the vet saying she did really well, was awake/recovering nicely, and that she was never aggressive at any point.

Unfortunately, it didn’t continue to go all that smoothly. She vomited, is sluggish, and on pain meds. Hopefully she recovers well and can maybe meet Jack (my aforementioned Elkhound). I’d like him to help her build confidence with people, so cross your fingers that she does well with dogs. She’s mostly passed out but I’m going to go sit with her and stroke her ears like she likes.

Leave a Reply

